Creation Asylum Banner

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

"If i have another Heroes dream tonight, I'm gonna go down the park and start jumping off the monkey bars in a vain and fruitless attempt to 1. Fly and 2. Copy Peter Petrelli."

SorceressKyrsty

Check out the site too!

Quick Jump: The AsylumV | EntertainmentV | Game MakingV | Creative ForumV | Technology & ComputersV | TranslationsV

28 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> AMS - Advanced Message Script - R4, NEW: Change main message box size and +
Rating 5 V
Dubealex
post Feb 13 2005, 03:40 PM
Post #1


Administrator of this Asylum
Group Icon
Group Icon


Admin

Member No.: 1
Posts Liked: 36 *
Joined: 8-November 04
Posts: 2,693
-->
From: Longueuil, Canada

RPG Maker Level:
Master

Class Title:
Writer, Scripter & Designer

Last.fm ID: Dubealex

Country:



Advanced Message Script - Release 4 [Update #2]


Available Translation:
[Nederlands] Dutch translation (by: Nick)
German Translation (by: Bluescreen)

Instruction Manual:
Click Here to access the manual.

Download the playable demo now:
Attached File  AMS___Advanced_Message_Script___R4.rar ( 356.25k ) Number of downloads: 12856


Download the un-corrupted RGSS100J.DLL file right here:
Attached File  RGSS100J.rar ( 628.38k ) Number of downloads: 7426


New Release #4 [Updated] now available !

Known issues and solution:

- Letter J make the game crash
--> Be sure to use the DLL I provide in this post, since some DLL files are corrupted and cause that weird bug.
- The game exit at title screen/load/save screen
--> Be sure to delete your save files (.sav) from your game folder, this is what causes that bug.

New Features in R4:

- Modify the position offset of the window when using the event code \p[id]
- Modify the size and position of the main message box.

New Features in R3:

- Allow/Disallow the Text Skip Button
- Modify the text color in the Name Box
- Modify the text color in the message box permentatly
- Modify the windowskin of the message box
- Modify the windowskin of the name box
- Modify the position of the name box
- Modify the size of the name box
- Modify the opacity of the message box
- Modify independately the font of the message box and name box

Old Features still present:

- Letter By Letter script (Can be set ON or OFF)
- Show the gold window
- Show the hero's name
- Show the monster's name
- Show an item's price
- Modify the font used in message box (Now totally fixed in R3!)
- Add wait in your message
- Wait for user input
- Change text speed
- Change text size
- Show the message box above the hero or any event
- Show the map name
- Use HTML Hexadecimal color code in \c[Color ID]
- Show a face graphic in your message box
- Show the class name of a character
- Show variable values, item name, weapon name, skill name and armor name
- Modify the color of the text
- Show a name (or other info) in a little name box above the message box
- Modify the text opacity
- Play a sound effect as the letter are shown in the message box
- Display text as superscript
- Force a message box to close itself

Bug fixed in R3:

- Script tested in new project in Postality and Dynaemu version. Work fine in both.
- Compatibility with Font not showing up fixed.
- Cleaner code, less mess.
- A complete customization area at the beggining of the script.
- The settings of the AMS are now saved and loaded with your Saved Files.
- The font change feature now allows the use of parenthesis ( ).
- Some other minor things.

Future feature to implement:

*I won't have time to script anymore, so you can feel free to create add-on or enhancement of that script, for as long as you leave the credit intact. If you want ideas, here's what I owuld have added in it:

- Show an event name in messages (Using Near_Fantastica code snippet)
- Modify the opacity of the name window
- Add a new Face Graphic (or any image) System
- A more powerful wait system integrated in the message script
- Show multiple message box, and manage them via call script.

The script you need:

Be sure to check the Instruction Manual below that script to know how to use the commands and what they do. But first thing first, create a new page in your script editor, just above MAIN; and name it "Advanced Message Script" or "AMS", and copy the following code in it:

--> Download the demo, the script is in it. its too big to put in here and edit all the time.

This post has been edited by Dubealex: Apr 21 2007, 11:40 PM



If the worst hasn't happened yet, it is because you have not tried everything yet.







Support BBCode + Personality test


Go to the top of the page
 
Thanks+Quote Post
Who Liked:
Syndlig
post Feb 13 2005, 05:22 PM
Post #2


Newbie
Group Icon


Newbie

Member No.: 205
Posts Liked: 0 *
Joined: 5-February 05
Posts: 6
-->

RPG Maker Level:
Not Applicable

Class Title:
Graphic Artist and Writer



Well... I must say, awesome work. But I have a problem:

CODE
????? 'Advanced_Message' ? 1041 ??? EOFError ????????

End of file reached


Not sure what's happening here. A spot of help?

::EDIT::
It seems the problem is with my project. I downloaded the demo and replaced the script in mine with that one and I get the same exact error.
Go to the top of the page
 
Thanks+Quote Post
Dubealex
post Feb 14 2005, 07:55 AM
Post #3


Administrator of this Asylum
Group Icon
Group Icon


Admin

Member No.: 1
Posts Liked: 36 *
Joined: 8-November 04
Posts: 2,693
-->
From: Longueuil, Canada

RPG Maker Level:
Master

Class Title:
Writer, Scripter & Designer

Last.fm ID: Dubealex

Country:



I'm pretty sure it's because of the following:

If the error occur when you load a game from your project, it's normal, because the script tries to load the data from the $ams object that are saved in a save file, but since your save file has been saved before the AMS-R3 was implemented, it's not found in the save file data; thus the error given (EOF - End Of File- reached) It means that RMXP reached the end of the save file without founding the data the script asked for. (On a new game, it should work...)

If this is isn't the case, I would like to know the following:

1- Do you have any other script that modify the SCene_Load or SCene_Save script, whether by alias or directly.

2- Have you modified the cene Load or Scene Save

3- What other script have you implemented in your game

4- WHen does the bug occur (i.e: On a new game, before the title, on a load game, etc.)



If the worst hasn't happened yet, it is because you have not tried everything yet.







Support BBCode + Personality test


Go to the top of the page
 
Thanks+Quote Post
vpcdmd
post Feb 14 2005, 08:41 AM
Post #4


Newbie
Group Icon


Newbie

Member No.: 232
Posts Liked: 0 *
Joined: 14-February 05
Posts: 11
-->
From: Charlotte, NC

RPG Maker Level:
Good

Class Title:
Mapper



I get the same error as Syndlig

I have a New game + scipt, caterpillar, switch player, ring menu.

the error shows before the title screen.

Edit: I copied the script data from my game to your demo, and it works fine, so I don't think that any of my scripts are the problem.

Edit: I erased my saved game, and now it works fine, great script.



IPB Image
Go to the top of the page
 
Thanks+Quote Post
Crash
post Feb 14 2005, 09:00 AM
Post #5


Member
Group Icon


X-Treme

Member No.: 127
Posts Liked: 0 *
Joined: 1-January 05
Posts: 93
-->
From: My room...

RPG Maker Level:
Expert

Class Title:
Artist



How can I set letter by letter being active all the time? :-?



CODE SIGIL
RELEASE DATE: 16.02.2006
TAKE A PREVIEW! http://www.dubealex.com/asylum/index.php?showtopic=4741

IPB Image
Go to the top of the page
 
Thanks+Quote Post
Syndlig
post Feb 14 2005, 12:08 PM
Post #6


Newbie
Group Icon


Newbie

Member No.: 205
Posts Liked: 0 *
Joined: 5-February 05
Posts: 6
-->

RPG Maker Level:
Not Applicable

Class Title:
Graphic Artist and Writer



Erasing my save game remedied the problem as well. Had you said nothing of it I would never have realized it was causing that.
Go to the top of the page
 
Thanks+Quote Post
Dubealex
post Feb 14 2005, 12:47 PM
Post #7


Administrator of this Asylum
Group Icon
Group Icon


Admin

Member No.: 1
Posts Liked: 36 *
Joined: 8-November 04
Posts: 2,693
-->
From: Longueuil, Canada

RPG Maker Level:
Master

Class Title:
Writer, Scripter & Designer

Last.fm ID: Dubealex

Country:



QUOTE
How can I set letter by letter being active all the time? :-?


???

It's active all the time by default... I don't know what you mean.



If the worst hasn't happened yet, it is because you have not tried everything yet.







Support BBCode + Personality test


Go to the top of the page
 
Thanks+Quote Post
Crash
post Feb 14 2005, 01:58 PM
Post #8


Member
Group Icon


X-Treme

Member No.: 127
Posts Liked: 0 *
Joined: 1-January 05
Posts: 93
-->
From: My room...

RPG Maker Level:
Expert

Class Title:
Artist



QUOTE(Dubealex @ Feb 14 2005, 06:47 PM)
???

It's active all the time by default... I don't know what you mean.
*

Sorry, I haven't noticed! eusa_doh.gif



CODE SIGIL
RELEASE DATE: 16.02.2006
TAKE A PREVIEW! http://www.dubealex.com/asylum/index.php?showtopic=4741

IPB Image
Go to the top of the page
 
Thanks+Quote Post
Supreme Pie Ninj...
post Feb 14 2005, 03:19 PM
Post #9


Version 2.0
Group Icon


I'm Awesome !!

Member No.: 88
Posts Liked: 0 *
Joined: 13-December 04
Posts: 7,175
-->
From: Canada™

RPG Maker Level:
Expert


Country:



Awesome job! And 1 simple question which would take a sec to answer:

...actually, it's not really a question, more of a confirmation: Was wondering if you replace the old AMS with this or make a new script for it (probably replace the old one, but just making sure)
Go to the top of the page
 
Thanks+Quote Post
Syndlig
post Feb 14 2005, 03:31 PM
Post #10


Newbie
Group Icon


Newbie

Member No.: 205
Posts Liked: 0 *
Joined: 5-February 05
Posts: 6
-->

RPG Maker Level:
Not Applicable

Class Title:
Graphic Artist and Writer



You replace the old one. :D
Go to the top of the page
 
Thanks+Quote Post
Rabu
post Feb 15 2005, 05:53 AM
Post #11


Newbie
Group Icon


Expert

Member No.: 24
Posts Liked: 0 *
Joined: 20-November 04
Posts: 48
-->

RPG Maker Level:
Getting good




Hi Dubealex,

once again a big step further. The feature, to save the values in save-files is perfect work. Also the features for "extra-coloring" the Name-Window-Text and the "Disable-Skip" feature are great. (I inserted it into my project and did an encrypted gamedisc and no error has occured)

And thanks for crediting us for our little advice concerning the Face-Window-Feature.

Btw, how's your Game-Maker going on.



Greetz, Rabu
Go to the top of the page
 
Thanks+Quote Post
nabuchodonosor
post Feb 15 2005, 09:54 AM
Post #12


Newbie
Group Icon


Newbie

Member No.: 236
Posts Liked: 0 *
Joined: 15-February 05
Posts: 1
-->

RPG Maker Level:
Good

Class Title:
Scripter



you should add a function to be able to change the name winodow opacity
out of that
IT ROCKS!
alright.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
Thanks+Quote Post
Raphael_Bloodsto...
post Feb 15 2005, 11:43 AM
Post #13


Newbie
Group Icon


Member

Member No.: 76
Posts Liked: 0 *
Joined: 11-December 04
Posts: 44
-->
From: Louisville, Kentucky USA

RPG Maker Level:
Getting good

Class Title:
Writer, Novice Scripter, HTML Programmer, CEO of WSP LLC



I implemented the new AMS over the old AMS and now the game will no longer display my time for the NDS system. It only reads as "The time is 0." How can I fix this?



Don't forget to download "The Crusaders:Animation" teaser that I left in my downloads and tell me what you think. I believe this to be some of my best writing and I would like feedback, if you guys don't mind!

Project:LWA (Working Title)
Character Information: 60%
Maps: >5%
Storyline Abstract: 100%
Storyline Programmed: 10%
Database: 30%
-- Additions --
Elementals: 10%
Rank System: 10%
KARMA system: 20%
Script Additions: 70%

You can't wait for inspiration. You have to go after it with a club. ~Jack London (John Griffith)

Trust that little voice in your head that says "Wouldn't it be interesting if..." And then do it. ~Duane Michals, "More Joy of Photography"

Goals are dreams with deadlines. ~Diana Scharf Hunt

I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by. ~Douglas Adams

Courage doesn't always roar. Sometimes courage is the little voice at the end of the day that says I'll try again tomorrow. ~Mary Anne Radmacher

Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear - not absence of fear. ~Mark Twain, Pudd'nhead Wilson's Calendar, 1894

Courage is almost a contradiction in terms. It means a strong desire to live taking the form of readiness to die. ~G.K. Chesterton

Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a very persistent one. ~Albert Einstein

I have a very firm grasp on reality! I can reach out and strangle it any time! ~Author Unknown

Reality bites... and doesn't let go. ~Author Unknown

Imagination is the one weapon in the war against reality. ~Jules de Gaultier

Reality is the leading cause of stress amongst those in touch with it. ~Jane Wagner

Sometimes I've believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast. ~Lewis Carroll
Go to the top of the page
 
Thanks+Quote Post
Dubealex
post Feb 15 2005, 12:04 PM
Post #14


Administrator of this Asylum
Group Icon
Group Icon


Admin

Member No.: 1
Posts Liked: 36 *
Joined: 8-November 04
Posts: 2,693
-->
From: Longueuil, Canada

RPG Maker Level:
Master

Class Title:
Writer, Scripter & Designer

Last.fm ID: Dubealex

Country:



QUOTE
I implemented the new AMS over the old AMS and now the game will no longer display my time for the NDS system. It only reads as "The time is 0." How can I fix this?


Which NDS are you using ? My old one ? I dont even remeber my own... I will have to take a peak at it if you say it's that one.

- Name window opacity

For that, I havent work on it because I wanted to release the AMS R3 soon, I did not wanted to release it later for that small feature. Fact is, to change the opacity of the name window wasn't as easy as changing the opacity of the main window... Or I was just sleepy back then. But small update can occur and may be added over time...



If the worst hasn't happened yet, it is because you have not tried everything yet.







Support BBCode + Personality test


Go to the top of the page
 
Thanks+Quote Post
Raphael_Bloodsto...
post Feb 15 2005, 12:14 PM
Post #15


Newbie
Group Icon


Member

Member No.: 76
Posts Liked: 0 *
Joined: 11-December 04
Posts: 44
-->
From: Louisville, Kentucky USA

RPG Maker Level:
Getting good

Class Title:
Writer, Novice Scripter, HTML Programmer, CEO of WSP LLC



I found the fix for it in the boards for the old AMS. I'll quote it here.

QUOTE
Dubealex
I know why, hopefully, since it' sme who did it... lol

(Man, that NDS is old.... My new ATS (Time SYstem) that is almost completed will completely destroy it...)

Ok, in the time being, to fix it, you simply open your class WIndow_Message, and go to the refresh method, you should then see that chunk of code:

CODE
 # THIS IS THE NIGHT & DAY SYSTEM (NDS) BY ALEX
 # www.dubealex.com
 # This allows to set a variable = the time, so you just need to make
 # a character says \v[8] in order to say the time it is.
 
 $nds_txt = ["", 1, ":","", 2, ":","", 3, 4]
 $nds_txt[1] = $game_variables[6]
 $nds_txt[4] = $game_variables[5]
 $nds_txt[7] = $game_variables[4]
 $nds_txt[8] = $game_variables[7]

 if $nds_txt[1] <= 9
  $nds_txt[0] = "0"
 end

 if $nds_txt[4] <= 9
  $nds_txt[3] = "0"
 end

 if $nds_txt[7] <= 9
  $nds_txt[6] = "0"
 end
 
 $game_variables[8] = $nds_txt[0..7]

 # THIS IS THE END OF �NIGHT & DAY SYSTEM (NDS) BY ALEX


Just select it all (from your script editor, not from here !) and cut it (CONTROL+X), and then , go in your class Advanced_Message, run a search for refresh to found the refresh method, just under the line

def refresh

Paste the code in there (CONTROL+V), and it should work, I tested it.

-> My new time system, named ATS, will do just about everything, and it is 100% script !



Don't forget to download "The Crusaders:Animation" teaser that I left in my downloads and tell me what you think. I believe this to be some of my best writing and I would like feedback, if you guys don't mind!

Project:LWA (Working Title)
Character Information: 60%
Maps: >5%
Storyline Abstract: 100%
Storyline Programmed: 10%
Database: 30%
-- Additions --
Elementals: 10%
Rank System: 10%
KARMA system: 20%
Script Additions: 70%

You can't wait for inspiration. You have to go after it with a club. ~Jack London (John Griffith)

Trust that little voice in your head that says "Wouldn't it be interesting if..." And then do it. ~Duane Michals, "More Joy of Photography"

Goals are dreams with deadlines. ~Diana Scharf Hunt

I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by. ~Douglas Adams

Courage doesn't always roar. Sometimes courage is the little voice at the end of the day that says I'll try again tomorrow. ~Mary Anne Radmacher

Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear - not absence of fear. ~Mark Twain, Pudd'nhead Wilson's Calendar, 1894

Courage is almost a contradiction in terms. It means a strong desire to live taking the form of readiness to die. ~G.K. Chesterton

Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a very persistent one. ~Albert Einstein

I have a very firm grasp on reality! I can reach out and strangle it any time! ~Author Unknown

Reality bites... and doesn't let go. ~Author Unknown

Imagination is the one weapon in the war against reality. ~Jules de Gaultier

Reality is the leading cause of stress amongst those in touch with it. ~Jane Wagner

Sometimes I've believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast. ~Lewis Carroll
Go to the top of the page
 
Thanks+Quote Post
Dubealex
post Feb 16 2005, 05:59 AM
Post #16


Administrator of this Asylum
Group Icon
Group Icon


Admin

Member No.: 1
Posts Liked: 36 *
Joined: 8-November 04
Posts: 2,693
-->
From: Longueuil, Canada

RPG Maker Level:
Master

Class Title:
Writer, Scripter & Designer

Last.fm ID: Dubealex

Country:



Nice... I just forgot about that.. lol

(I took the liberty of fixing the Quote BBCOde in your message.)



If the worst hasn't happened yet, it is because you have not tried everything yet.







Support BBCode + Personality test


Go to the top of the page
 
Thanks+Quote Post
Jeff
post Feb 17 2005, 04:34 PM
Post #17


Newbie
Group Icon


Member

Member No.: 212
Posts Liked: 0 *
Joined: 6-February 05
Posts: 13
-->
From: USA

RPG Maker Level:
Getting good




Hey, on the the coding for the AMS (the new one), I've tried it and I have 2 problems.

1: The windowskin is on even if I use an Autostart event to turn it to 'none'

2: The opacity is still the same (Dubealex, it's from the other thread of mine), it's not fully white.
Go to the top of the page
 
Thanks+Quote Post
Dubealex
post Feb 17 2005, 04:39 PM
Post #18


Administrator of this Asylum
Group Icon
Group Icon


Admin

Member No.: 1
Posts Liked: 36 *
Joined: 8-November 04
Posts: 2,693
-->
From: Longueuil, Canada

RPG Maker Level:
Master

Class Title:
Writer, Scripter & Designer

Last.fm ID: Dubealex

Country:



QUOTE
1: The windowskin is on even if I use an Autostart event to turn it to 'none'


I dont know what you mean, but I will reply when I got home in some days, I dont RMXP here.

QUOTE
2: The opacity is still the same (Dubealex, it's from the other thread of mine), it's not fully white.


Fully white ? What do you mean, fully white ? Opacity has nothing to do with color, if you set the opacity of the window for message to 0, it will be invisible, you will see the map through it. At 255, it's fully opaque, and you don't see anything through it.



If the worst hasn't happened yet, it is because you have not tried everything yet.







Support BBCode + Personality test


Go to the top of the page
 
Thanks+Quote Post
Jeff
post Feb 17 2005, 05:56 PM
Post #19


Newbie
Group Icon


Member

Member No.: 212
Posts Liked: 0 *
Joined: 6-February 05
Posts: 13
-->
From: USA

RPG Maker Level:
Getting good




Let me explain more:

1: I want it so the script doesn't choose what windowskin you start with.

2: I want the back of the message box all white. It's partially white but you can see a bit of the background of the game.
Go to the top of the page
 
Thanks+Quote Post
neopolis3
post Feb 18 2005, 04:21 AM
Post #20


Newbie
Group Icon


Newbie

Member No.: 245
Posts Liked: 0 *
Joined: 18-February 05
Posts: 10
-->

RPG Maker Level:
Novice

Class Title:
Designer-Writer



It gives errors... I only use your \Name[Bob] command, but sometimes it just quits the game for no reason. It gives erors in these 2 messages:

CODE
\Name[City Spirit]Oh thanks!

CODE
\Name[Forest Spirit]Thank you, oh thanks a lot.



Woah, isn't that weird. These 2 messages are almost identical... strach.gif Any idea why it crashes? Doesn't it like the word thanks? The word Spirit?

EDIT: I did not load an old game, I do not have any other scripts except for the default ones and it doesn't even always happen...



Paper Mario rules!
Go to the top of the page
 
Thanks+Quote Post

28 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- The Staff Team Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th October 2014 - 02:45 AM


Affiliated Sites: