Creation Asylum Banner

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

"Yes,1-800-Big-Boss. Yes I'm at the end of the level and theres nothing here."

Haji(Serious Sam)

Check out the site too!

Quick Jump: The AsylumV | EntertainmentV | Game MakingV | Creative ForumV | Technology & ComputersV | TranslationsV

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Windows 8 Upgrade Assistant of Doom, Annoying as hell!
Dark Link
post Nov 4 2012, 06:21 PM
Post #1


X-Treme
Group Icon


X-Treme

Member No.: 6,796
Posts Liked: 0 *
Joined: 13-February 07
Posts: 292
-->
From: United Kingdom

RPG Maker Level:
Fair

Class Title:
Mapper, Comic Artist, Dragonball Z know-it-all



Hey all!

So here I am, trying to upgrade to Windows 8 on my computer, so I download the seemingly mandatory 'Windows Upgrade Assistant' after trying to buy it. The problem is that the set-up thinks that my CPU is insufficient for the requirements of Windows 8. However I have an AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition quad core CPU and it only seems to be recognising one of the four, resulting in the set-up thinking I have a rubbish CPU.

Would anyone be able to help?

Many thanks.




Click on the above signature to visit Anytopia, a forum about anything!


For all of your RMXP needs, visit RMXP Ultimate.

Why is it that if something says, "do not eat" on the packaging it becomes extra tempting?
Go to the top of the page
 
Thanks+Quote Post
SweetPoet
post Nov 4 2012, 10:18 PM
Post #2


Legendary God Of Plasmoids!
Group Icon
Group Icon


Asylum Legend

Member No.: 40
Posts Liked: 0 *
Joined: 28-November 04
Posts: 1,533
-->
From: Texas, USA

RPG Maker Level:
Not Applicable

Class Title:
Writer, Standard Deviant, Catalyst of change, and all-round nice guy! ^_^

Country:



Best I can tell, the "upgrade assistant" is a useless piece of software, in my opinion, anyway. :P

I got Win7 running on a little netbook with an atom processor...and I guarantee the upgrade assistant would have said no way!

That having been said, you may just need to make sure everything is backed up and try to install.

I, personally, not having a touch screen computer, have no interest in Windows 8, so I can't offer any direct advice.

Experimentation!!! ^_^



Go to the top of the page
 
Thanks+Quote Post
GubiD
post Nov 5 2012, 04:48 PM
Post #3


...meh...
Group Icon
Group Icon


Moderator

Member No.: 4,335
Posts Liked: 60 *
Joined: 7-August 06
Posts: 7,629
-->
From: Hue

RPG Maker Level:
Master

Class Title:
Scripting Nerd

Country:



I have yet to do the upgrade myself either. I am going to say though, most 'assistants' are just annoying interfaces to tell if you have meet the per-requisite. You can usually take what they say with a grain of salt and proceed anyway. :)






My Forums: SponAsylum.DynDns.org Minecraft Server: SponAsylum.DynDns.org
Help maintain the server by 'ing

My Intertubes Speeds
RM Stuff

Go to the top of the page
 
Thanks+Quote Post
OhMrBigshot
post Nov 15 2012, 06:58 AM
Post #4


Spider-Mod
Group Icon
Group Icon


Moderator

Member No.: 1,136
Posts Liked: 6 *
Joined: 13-July 05
Posts: 5,168
-->
From: Bat Yam, Israel

RPG Maker Level:
Master

Class Title:
Web developer

Country:



Just back up what you need and start fresh, either way it's better than upgrading cause transferring all the registry settings, app files, will reduce your performance



I HATE IPB.
So I'm making something better :)
User system 100%
Posting 100%
User CP 95%
Plug-in implementation 90%
Forum layout 70%
Rating system 50%
Notifications 0%
Subscription 0%
Portal & pages 0%

Go to the top of the page
 
Thanks+Quote Post
GubiD
post Nov 15 2012, 10:54 AM
Post #5


...meh...
Group Icon
Group Icon


Moderator

Member No.: 4,335
Posts Liked: 60 *
Joined: 7-August 06
Posts: 7,629
-->
From: Hue

RPG Maker Level:
Master

Class Title:
Scripting Nerd

Country:



I finally installed Windows 8 the other day. Because I did it inside of a VM it constantly stated that I dont have the required speed processor as well. So I continued anyway and everything is fine.






My Forums: SponAsylum.DynDns.org Minecraft Server: SponAsylum.DynDns.org
Help maintain the server by 'ing

My Intertubes Speeds
RM Stuff

Go to the top of the page
 
Thanks+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- The Staff Team Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd July 2014 - 06:03 AM


Affiliated Sites: